Reminiscing

 

With the Independence Day celebrations for the USA yesterday, and the Bahamas following on July 10, I have spent a good part of today reminiscing. My husband and I are proud to be able to celebrate for both countries as he is Bahamian. I am an American.

During my 25 + years of living in Nassau, Bahamas, my husband has shown me so many of the wonders of living here. My favourite part about living here is the privilege of being able to see the miraculous multi-hued waters of the Bahamas. I cannot say enough times: if you have not been here to experience them, you must make sure you do. I have been in the waters off Long Island, exploring then actually standing on the landing spot of Christopher Columbus thinking “I am sure those first explorers were as awe struck by the waters as I am right now”; to boating all around the waters and islands of the Exuma Cays seeing sting rays swimming under our boat, sharks swimming by to feed on scraps from the fishermen’s as they clean their haul of groupers, red snappers, yellow fin tuna, not to mention the conch and lobsters. Watching with excitement as divers come up with lobsters; as they tow the line behind the boat looking for conch to dive up. Seeing beautiful red starfish, knowing they are real. I cannot tell you how exciting it is while out fishing to come across a lazily swimming sea turtle or a pod of sperm whales or dolphins; all these creatures right there in front of me, a sight most people never get to see in their lifetimes. Let me not forget how much fun it is to explore as many of the cays and islands as you can. Climbing the rocks to find holes where the pin tailed sea gulls have nests and the babies have hatched, waiting  for mother to come back with food. Swimming around currents that toss you back upon the beach only to go back and do it again and again. Finding a fresh water hole to rinse the salt water off is such an unexpected treat!

Imagine what it is like to sit in waters that are as clear as those in a drinking glass or swimming pool; to be able to snorkel over and around fish and anemones of all shapes, sizes and colors, the white sand beaches as well as the famed pink sand beach that Harbour Island is renowned for: all mingled with every color of blue water you can possibly imagine. (Most of the time there are few or no other humans around.)

All I can tell you is: I sit there thinking to myself, “if this is not heaven, I  don’t know what is.” What better way to celebrate Independence than to see and experience the true, unspoiled beauty of nature?

Contact Estate Agent:

Dana Pinder

Mobile: 242.376.2880

Email: dana.pinder@mariocareyrealty.com

http://www.mariocareyrealty.com

9 thoughts on “Reminiscing

  1. I love your post Dana! I know exactly of what you speak. The beauty that surrounds me is beyond description. Although I am not in the Bahamas I have had the same experiences both there and here in the Mayan Riviera. Although I do not speak fluent Spanish I sometimes think not understanding all that goes on around me is a not so bad. It leaves room for taking in all the beauty. We are blessed in many ways mi amiga!

    • Back at you Barry! Thank you for your kind words! I truly agree that we are blessed in so many ways. I will say I envy your ability to transfer the beauty that surrounds you on to different “palettes” for others to love and appreciate. One day we WILL get together be it here, there or in MO.

  2. Wow Dana. I love this. I had goosebumps as well as tear filled eyes as I read your blog. We have experienced the beauty that you are speaking of and hope to so again soon. I am quite proud to call you my cousin as you, Colin and your family also have the same beauty that is on display on your beautiful island. Love from Missouri!

  3. You are an excellent writer, Dana! I felt like I was right there with you! You are absolutely correct that the Bahamas are BEAUTIFUL!! Thankful I have been there once. Keep on writing!

  4. Thank you Janelle! I am happy that you enjoyed my blog! There will be more to come so watch out for them! We love you guys too!! Come back ANYTIME, you have a home, right here with us~

  5. Can I simply say what a reduction to search out someone who truly knows
    what theyre speaking about on the internet. You positively know tips on how to carry a
    problem to gentle and make it important. More folks need
    to learn this and understand this aspect of the story.

    I cant consider youre no more popular because you positively have the gift.

  6. Hey there!
    This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading through this post reminds me of my good old room mate! He always kept talking about this. I will forward this page to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

  7. Excellent website. Plenty of useful information here. I’m sending it to some buddies ans additionally sharing in delicious. And naturally, thank you for your effort!

Leave a Reply

